This article is part of the Password Protection series. The Prevent Password Sharing setting helps you make sure that a video password can’t be shared with a third party and can’t be used if it leaks.

HOW TO TURN ON "PREVENT PASSWORD SHARING"

1. Go to ⚙️ Settings > 🔒 Access Control > 🔑Password Protection

2. Select a Password Package and click on a Password Group to edit it.

3. On the right side, under Add Passwords To Group, you'll see the Prevent Password Sharing setting.

You have three options here:

  • Disabled: Password can be shared between users.
  • IP Fingerprint: Password can only be shared between devices on the same home or office computer network.
  • Device Fingerprint: Password can’t be shared. The password can only be used on one device at a time which has to be authorized first.

Let's have a closer look at IP Fingerprint and Device Fingerprint.

🔒 IP Fingerprint

The password can only be shared between devices on the same home or office computer network.

Example

You create a password for your internal sales training videos and share it with Anne — a new sales rep. She starts watching on a desktop computer connected to your internal company network. At some point, Anne moves to the lounge area and wants to continue watching on a laptop. Since her laptop is connected to your internal company network, she can enter the password and continue watching.

Unfortunately, someone from a competing company learns Anne's password. He enters the password to watch your company's confidential sales training.

But the system recognizes that this person is connected to another computer network and requires a Two-Factor Authentication (2FA) code. This code is generated and sent to Anne's email. The impostor can't watch the videos because he doesn't have access to the email.

🔐Device Fingerprint

The password can’t be shared. The content can only be viewed on one device at a time.

Example

You create 4 passwords to give four people free access to your paid online course. One of them, let's call him Jim, decides to share the password with a friend.

The friend opens the online course and enters the password.

But the system recognizes that this is a different device and requires a Two-Factor Authentication (2FA) code. This code is generated and sent to Jim's email.

If the friend enters the 2FA code, Jim won't be able to watch because the friend's computer will become the only authorized device.

Device Fingerprint is the most secure option but it will require viewers to enter a 2FA code every time they switch to a new device.

📝 Note: A 2FA code is NOT required the first time a viewer enters their password. It's only required when they try using the same password a second time.

📧 Customize The 2FA Email

If you want to change the 2FA email your viewers receive, click the ⚙️Gear icon next to Email Template.

RELATED ARTICLES

Password Protection

Did this answer your question?